Results 1 355
42 Previous Next

Christ and the Cycle of Twelve Feasts
Explore Object
Creative Commons License

Christ and the Cycle of Twelve Feasts

Description Exhibitions Provenance Credit
Description This icon shows a central figure of Christ identified by an inscription as "Pantokrator," Greek for "almighty." He is surrounded by twelve scenes representing the major feasts of the Orthodox Church (clockwise, from the upper left): the Annunciation, Nativity, Presentation in the Temple, Baptism, Transfiguration, Raising of Lazarus, Entry into Jerusalem, Crucifixion, Resurrection, Ascension, Pentecost, and Dormition (Death) of the Virgin.
  • Early Christian and Byzantine Art. Baltimore Museum of Art, Baltimore. 1947.
Provenance Dikran Kelekian, New York and Paris, by purchase; Henry Walters, Baltimore, [date of acquisition unknown], by purchase; Walters Art Museum, 1931, by bequest.
Credit Acquired by Henry Walters

Download Image Add to Collection Creative Commons License

14th century (Medieval)
Accession Number
2 15/16 x 2 3/16 x 3/8 in. (7.5 x 5.6 x 1 cm)


    Thumbnail: Christ and the Cycle of Twelve Feasts
    Zoom Out Zoom In Back to Details  
    Full Size: Christ and the Cycle of Twelve Feasts