Results 1 65
65 Previous Next

Twelve Feasts
Explore Object
Creative Commons License

Twelve Feasts

Description Conservation Provenance Inscription Credit
Description This carved walrus-ivory panel, in a decorative frame of repoussé silver with a loop for suspension, illustrates twelve major feasts of the Eastern Orthodox Church: the Annunciation, Nativity, Presentation of Christ in the Temple, Baptism of Christ, Raising of Lazarus, Entry into Jerusalem, Crucifixion, Resurrection, Ascension, Pentecost, Transfiguration, and Dormition of the Virgin. Above each scene is an ogival arch with an inscription identifying the composition. The frame must have been added by a Greek silversmith in the 18th or 19th century, since it has on its left side the Greek inscription "of All Saints", possibly referring to a Church of All Saints to which the icon was given as a gift.
Date Description Narrative
7/24/1959Treatmentcleaned; coated
Provenance Henry Walters, Baltimore [date of acquistion unknown], by purchase; Walters Art Museum, 1931, by bequest.
Inscriptions [Transcription] On the frame: ΤΟΝ ΑΓΙΟΝ ΠΑΤΕΣ, i.e. τῶν αγίων παντες; [Translation] of All Saints
Credit Acquired by Henry Walters

Download Image Add to Collection Creative Commons License

17th century (Early Modern)
walrus ivory, repoussé silver frame
(Ivory & Bone)
Accession Number
H: 3 9/16 x W: 3 1/16 in. (9 x 7.8 cm)
Location Within Museum
Not On View


    Thumbnail: Twelve Feasts
    Zoom Out Zoom In Back to Details  
    Full Size: Twelve Feasts