Results 1 355
56 Previous Next

Cross with Twelve Feasts
Explore Object
Creative Commons License

Cross with Twelve Feasts

Description Conservation Provenance Credit
Description This two-sided pectoral cross depicts twelve feasts of the Orthodox Church, with six scenes in ivory relief on each side. On one side are the Nativity, Entry into Jerusalem, Crucifixion, Harrowing of Hell (the traditional iconography of the Resurrection), Ascension, and Dormition of the Virgin. On the other are the Annunciation, Presentation of Christ in the Temple, Baptism of Christ, Raising of Lazarus, Transfiguration, and Pentecost. The cross is framed in a silver mount with a loop for suspension at the top. One arm of the cross was already damaged at the time this frame was added.
Date Description Narrative
7/23/1959Treatmentcleaned; coated
Provenance Henry Walters, Baltimore, 1931, by purchase; Walters Art Museum, 1931, by bequest.
Credit Acquired by Henry Walters, 1931

Download Image Add to Collection Creative Commons License

17th century (Early Modern)
(Ivory & Bone)
Accession Number
H: 2 3/4 x W: 1 5/8 in. (7 x 4.2 cm)
Location Within Museum
Not On View


    Thumbnail: Cross with Twelve Feasts
    Zoom Out Zoom In Back to Details  
    Full Size: Cross with Twelve Feasts